CaaS Prize Deadline Extended: Calling All Servitization Projects

By Ilana Koegelenberg, Jul 03, 2020, 11:37 3 minute reading

Projects using a cooling-as-a-service model in Asia Africa, and Latin America can enter until July 31.

The submission deadline for the Global CaaS has been extended to July 31.

The deadline for submissions to the Cooling as a Service (CaaS) prize, open to cooling projects that were implemented under a pay-per-use model in Asia, Africa, and Latin America, has been extended to July 31.

The prize is being managed by the Swiss-based Basel Agency for Sustainable Energy (BASE), leader of the CaaS Initiative. The main focus of the CaaS Initiative is to mainstream the adoption of the cooling-as-a-service servitization model – in which end users of cooling equipment can pay on a pay-per-use basis rather than the traditional upfront investment.  The initiative is currently supporting projects in Asia, Africa and Latin America. 

To publicize examples of cooling as a service,  BASE has launched the CaaS prize.

What is the prize?

The CaaS prize gives the winner and qualified participants the possibility to showcase their project throughout the CaaS Initiative’s networks. To that end, the CaaS prize will provide funding to cover all costs related to the development of marketing material to be showcased on the CaaS website and throughout its virtual channels. 

All projects that comply with the CaaS principles set out below will be featured on the website’s “case studies” page. The project selected in the top three positions will be invited to showcase their projects in a variety of CaaS events (including a webinar and a global e-Summit). In addition, for the first place winner, BASE will finance the production of a high definition video about the project to be streamed in its virtual networks.

Who should apply and what are the criteria for selection?

BASE calls on all companies who would like to showcase their cooling industry servitization projects to apply. Qualified participants must present concrete projects that must be completed or under an advanced degree of implementation. The projects can be implemented in any sector (commercial, public, healthcare, tourism, cold rooms, etc.). District cooling projects are not applicable for the CaaS prize, as the initiative focuses on cooling provided as a service to individual buildings. Cooling as a service within building complexes, such as for universities, hospitals, hotels, airports, etc., are eligible.

The projects must reflect the key features of a CaaS project, namely:

  • The solution provider owns, maintains and operates the cooling infrastructure.
  • The cooling service is sold per unit of cooling, or with a similar price structure.
  • Ownership of the equipment is not transferred to the client.
  • The projects entail a service contract rather than a lease. It is accounted for as an off-balance rather than an on-balance expenditure for the user.
  • The costs of relevant utility bills (e.g. electricity, water) are paid by the solution provider, who therefore has an incentive to optimize efficiency performance.
  • Users can exit the contract before it ends, without having to pay the full cost of the equipment.
  • The technology used must be energy efficient and generate savings.
  • The technology must use low Global Warming Potential (GWP) refrigerants or natural refrigerants.
While applications for the CaaS prize are open for projects implemented in Latin America, Africa, and Asia, OECD (Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development) countries are excluded, except Chile, Colombia and Mexico.

Submit your application to the CaaS prize

By Ilana Koegelenberg (@Ilana_Ed)

Jul 03, 2020, 11:37

Related stories

Sign up to our Newsletter

Fill in the details below