Fiji Ratifies Kigali Amendment, Marking Halfway Point in Ratifications

By Tine Stausholm, Jul 13, 2020, 11:42 1 minute reading

HFC-reduction treaty reaches 99 ratifications.

Government Buildings in Suva. Offices of Executive wing of Fijian Government. © Dmitry Malov/

The Republic of Fiji, an archipelago nation in the South Pacific, has ratified the Kigali Amendment to the Montreal Protocol, becoming the 98th government, plus the European Union (EU), to ratify the global agreement to reduce HFC emissions.

The Kigali Amendment to the Montreal Protocol has 198 signatory parties, meaning that with Fiji’s ratification exactly half of them have ratified the amendment.

Fiji’s ratification came into effect on June 16, 2020, according to the latest update on the United Nation’s website.

Fiji is one of eight governments to ratify in 2020. Mozambique ratified in January; Lebanon in February; North Macedonia in March; and Bangladesh, the Holy See, Romania and Sierra Leone all in June.

As part of the Article 5 (developing countries) Group 1, Fiji is required to freeze HFC production and use in 2024, with an 80% reduction by 2045. So far, 67 out of 148 developing countries have ratified the Kigali Amendment.

The Kigali Amendment to the Montreal Protocol was enacted on October 15, 2016. It entered into force on January 1, 2019. 

Fully implemented, the amendment would avoid up to 0.4°C (0.7°F) increase in the global temperature by the end of the century, according to UN estimates.

For an in-depth look at the Kigali Amendment, click here.

By Tine Stausholm (@TStausholm)

Jul 13, 2020, 11:42

Related stories

Sign up to our Newsletter

Fill in the details below