Hydrocarbon technology shortlisted for UK cooling awards

By Sabine Lobnig, Aug 06, 2010, 12:37 1 minute reading

With the presentation date of the 7th annual RAC Cooling Industry Awards nearing, event organiser RAC magazine has announced the shortlisted companies and projects. The use of hydrocarbons in supermarket refrigeration systems is candidate award winner in several categories.

The 2010 RAC Cooling Industry Awards will highlight the leading technical innovations and environmental successes driving the heating and cooling sector.

Hydrocarbon retail refrigeration

The propane-based refrigeration technology that UK food retailer John Lewis Partnership has pledged to introduce in every new and major refitted Waitrose store is a potential award winner in an impressive 6 out of 10 award categories:
  • Refrigeration Innovation of the Year: John Lewis Partnership - Hydrocarbon refrigeration system
  • Retail Project of the Year: John Lewis Partnership - Hydrocarbon Refrigeration System
  • Low Carbon Achievement of the Year: John Lewis Partnership - HFC-Free Stores & Leak Reduction Campaign
  • Environmental Collaboration of the Year: John Lewis Partnership - Development of HFC-free Stores
  • Environmental Pioneer of the Year: Steve Isaia - John Lewis Partnership
  • Large End User of the Year: John Lewis Partnership
New award category now open

Although entries for the 7th annual RAC Cooling Industry Awards are now closed, a new award category for the ‘Student of the Year’ has been announced and will be open until 20 August 2010. The award will recognise the achievements of the best up and coming engineers in the United Kingdom and their contribution to the refrigeration and air conditioning industry.

Refrigeration and air conditioning engineers who are currently working towards a nationally recognised RAC qualification in the UK maybe nominated for the award, with the nominations submitted by either the employer or the training provider of the nominee.

Next steps

Winning companies and projects will be presented with the awards in a ceremony that will take place on 29 September 2010 in London, UK. 


By Sabine Lobnig

Aug 06, 2010, 12:37

Related stories

Sign up to our Newsletter

Fill in the details below